Saint David’s is a reconciling, affirming, and inclusive Christian community striving through worship, love, and service to welcome all people just as God created you.

No matter your step on the journey or place in the story: our welcome knows no boundaries of sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, culture, gender, economic condition, physical or mental ability, or age.

We believe that God delights in the diversity of creation and so do we!


SUNDAY SERVICES – 8 am & 10:30 am (with 9:30 am Sunday School)

Order of Service

“The Holy Eucharist, the prinicipal act of Christian worship on teh Lord’s Day and other major Feasts, and Daily Morning and Evening Prayer, as set forth in this Book, are the regular services appointed for public worship in this Church.” (Concerning the Service of the Church, Book of Common Prayer, 13)

As Christians have done since the beginning, we worship God through the celebration of the Eucharistic feast. In the Book of Common Prayer, the official name of the rite is The Holy Eucharist, the Liturgy for the Proclamation of the Word of God and Celebration of the Holy Communion. The celebration reflects something “holy,” the work of God’s people which fashions the body of Christ and grows the kingdom of God.

The Episcopal form of the celebration of Holy Eucharist follows The Book of Common Prayer. The common words, gestures, and movements of our prayer express our most deeply held beliefs and keep us connected to the timeless elements of Christian tradition. They demand participation and allow us all to be active players in the unfolding drama.

The full service of Holy Eucharist is a drama that brings together past, present, and future as we remember the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus the Christ and await his coming in glory. There are has two main acts to the drama: The Word of God (The Liturgy of the Word) and The Holy Communion (The Liturgy of the Eucharist); as well as a Gathering Rite and the Concluding or Sending Rite.

A brief summary follows. For a fuller description see the “The Order of Worship: a guided tour”.

 1. Gathering Rites – the gathering of the faithful in the place of worship together with the first affirmations of our common faith and recognition of ourselves as children of God.

2. The Word of God – the proclamation of sacred Scripture, in which we hear the story of God’s unbridled love for all the people and the marvelous way that God has demonstrated that love in the world, and our response to the word, by which we affirm the story and claim our place in it.

3. The Holy Communion – the participation in the Lord’s Supper, the Eucharist, in which welcomes the church into communion with himself even as the members are united in a profoundly intimate way with one another. In the Holy Communion, through the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, bread and wine become the Body and Blood of Christ, the means by which Jesus becomes tangibly present to the assembly.

4. Concluding (Sending) Rites – the preparation of the community to go into the world to share the story and the bread of life with others.

Saint David’s Episcopal Church

145 East Edgewood Drive

Lakeland, Florida  33803


Ask a question or leave a comment.